Title Bar
How do you know where you are going, if you do not know where you have come from?

LINKS

The following provides links to other web pages that might be of interest to the members of the Society. If you have a web site that you think would be appropriate for listing here, send the URL to h...@gmx.net.

Feel free to include a link to this site in your web page. We are not trying to be comprehensive but rather to list sites that are mainly of local interest or that would be of interest to our members.

If you find errors or broken links, please inform the webmaster at address below:

Carp LibraryDisplay of Huntley Maps at a meeting

Genealogical Links

GENERAL SITES

Getting started in genealogy/family history http://www.homeadvisor.com/article.show.History-at-Home-A-Guide-to-Genealogy.17370.html
Getting Started With Genealogy on the Web http://www.vodien.com/singapore-community/education/getting-started-genealogy-web.php
Genealogy In Time (latest web postings of data http://www.genealogyintime.com/Gen.....he_internet.html
Huntley, Aberdeenshire, Scotland http://www.huntly-online.com/
General Genealogy http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~websites/
Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites http://www.CyndisList.com/
National Institute for Genealogical Studies http://www.genealogicalstudies.com/
1881 distribution of family names http://www.publicprofiler.org/
Society of Genealogist (British) http://www.sog.org.uk/
Federation of Family History Societies http://www.ffhs.org.uk/ezine/intro.php
International Genealogical Index https://familysearch.org/search/collection/igi
Genealogical Links in the UK http://www.genealogy-links.co.uk/index.html/
Scotland's People (Census, Parish Records, etc. http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
People Finder http://www.peoplefinders.com/article-people-search-genealogy-resources.aspx
Automated Genealogy http://automatedgenealogy.com
Action Donation Services - Ships passenger Lists      http://www.actiondonation.org/articles/finding-family.html
US Citizenship - useful sites http://www.uscitizenship.info/trace-your-family-roots-from-immigration-us-citizenship-genealogy-guide/index.html

CENSUSES (or Censii?)

Census Finder (Ontario Census Records) http://www.censusfinder.com/ontario-canada-census-records.htm
1871 Census (head of household and strays only)      http://db.library.queensu.ca/census/
1881 Census http://www.familysearch.org/Eng/Search/frame
set_search.asp?PAGE=census/search_census.asp
British Census finder http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/census/?homepage=fr-census/
1901 British Census online http://www.1901censusonline.com/
1911 Irish Census (Dublin) online http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/

CEMETERY LISTINGS

Christ Church (Anglican http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~snaylor/OntGraMk/Ottawa/Huntley/ChristHu/CHRISTHU.HTM
St Andrews (Presbyterian) http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~snaylor/OntGraMk/Ottawa/Huntley/CarpPres/CARPPRES.HTM
Cemetery Records Online http://www.interment.net
North Bay and surrounding area cemeteries    http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~murrayp/
Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid.
http://www.islandnet.com/ocfa
Canadian headstone Photo Project http://www.canadianheadstones.com/

PERSONAL PAGES

Wullie Galloway http://www.otherwisewullie.ca/genealogy.html
Ottawa Valley Irish      http://ottawavalleyirish.com/

ARCHIVES

Library and Archives Canada http://www.thatsmyfamily.info/
BC Archives - Home Page http://www.bcarchives.bc.ca
Arnprior and District Archives http://www.adarchives.org/
City of Ottawa Archives http://ottawa.ca/en/residents/arts-culture-and-community/archives
Friends of the City of Ottawa Archives http://fcoa-aavo.ncf.ca/
Canada Map Archives http://atlas.nrcan.gc.ca/site/english/index.html
British National Archives http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/default.htm
National Archives of Scotland http://www.nas.gov.uk/
National Archives of Ireland http://nationalarchives.ie
Public Records Office of Northern Ireland http://www.proni.gov.uk/
Library and Archives of the Province of Quebec      http://www.banq.qc.ca/accueil/index.html

Historical Societies

OTTAWA AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETIES

ArchaeoExpeditions, Cultural Expeditions MEC Canada Inc. www.archaeoexpeditions.com
Archives Lanark http://www.globalgenealogy.com/archiveslanark/
British Family History Society of Greater Ottawa http://www.bifhsgo.ca/
Bytown Museum http://www.bytownmuseum.com
Carleton County GenWeb http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~oncarlet/index.html
Carp Fair www.carpfair.ca
Champlain: Travels in the Canadian Francophonie http://www.ropfo.ca/champlain/
City of Ottawa http://ottawa.ca
Council of Heritage Organizations in Ottawa http://www.choocopo.ca
Cumberland Township Historical Society http://www.cths.ca
Diefenbunker - Canada's Cold War Museum http://www.diefenbunker.ca
Goulbourn Township Historical Society http://goulbournhistoricalsociety.org
Goulbourn Museum http://www.goulbournmuseum.ca/
Haunted Walks of Ottawa http://www.hauntedwalk.com
Heritage Ottawa www.heritageottawa.org
Historical Society of Ottawa http://hsottawa.ncf.ca/
Lanark County Museums Network http://www.lanarkcountymuseums.ca/
Osgoode Township Historical Society & Museum http://www.osgoodemuseum.ca//
Perth Historical Society http://www.perthhs.org/
Pinhey's Point Foundation http://www.pinheyspoint.ca/
Upper Ottawa Valley Genealogical Group (Renfrew, Pembroke, Pontiac)      http://www.uovgg.ca/
Watson's Mill, Manotick http://www.watsonsmill.com/

ONTARIO HISTORICAL SITES

Ontario Historical Society www.ontariohistoricalsociety.ca
Ontario Heritage Trust http://www.heritagetrust.on.ca/
Ontario Historical Plaques http://ontarioplaques.com
Sparrow Lake Historical Society www.sparrowlake.ca
The Architectural Conservancy of Ontario      http://www.arconserv.ca/

CANADIAN HISTORICAL SITES

Alberta Family Histories Society http://www.afhs.ab.ca
Canadian National History Society www.canadashistory.ca
Canadian Register of Historic Places www.historicplaces.ca
Early Canadiana Online      http://www.canadiana.ca/en/home
Heritage Canada Foundation http://www.heritagecanada.org
Heritage Canada Foundation - Advocacy Action www.advocacyaction.org
Ottawa Geoheritage http://http-server.carleton.ca/~jadonald/index.html
Parks Canada http://www.pc.gc.ca or http://www.parkscanada.gc.ca
Virtual Museums of Canada (Canadian Heritage Information Network) http://www.ottawavalleyirish.com/



PRESERVATION AND RESTORATION SITES

Canadian Conservation Institute http://www.cci-icc.gc.ca/index-eng.aspx
Edifice Magazine http://edificevintagehome.com
Kyla Ubbink http://www3.sympatico.ca/kyla.ubbink/
Northeast Document Conservation Center      http://www.nedcc.org/
Preservation leaflets https://www.nedcc.org/free-resources/preservation-leaflets/overview



Other sites of Possible Interest

Canada

Mississippi Mills Public Library(Almonte)      http://www.mississippimills.ca/en/live/almontebranch.asp
Cape Breton Genealogy http://www.capebretongenweb.com/
Canada's Historic Places http://www.historicplaces.ca/en/home-accueil.aspx

Great Britain

Black Sheep Records http://www.blacksheepancestors.com/uk/
Abandoned Communities in Great Britain      http://www.abandonedcommunities.co.uk/index.html

Ireland

Ulster Canal Museum (Clones Lace) http://www.cloneslace.com
Online Resources for County Waterford http://locdat.waterfordcountylibrary.ie/
General Registry Office, Republic of Ireland      http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/General-Register-Office.aspx
General Registry Office, Northern Ireland http://www.nidirect.gov.uk/gro/
Church Records (Pay site) http://www.rootsireland.ie/
Church Records (Free Site) http://churchrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords
National Library http://www.nli.ie/
Presbyterian Historical Society of Ireland http://www.presbyterianhistoryireland.com
Irish Genealogy News http://www.irishgenealogynews.com/

England

United Grand Lodge of England (with links to Masonic lodges throughout the world)      http://www.ugle.org.uk/ and http://www.freemasonry.london.museum/
Old Names of Streets in London, England http://homepages.gold.ac.uk/genuki/LND/#Gazetteers

Scotland

County Sutherland, Scotland http://www.countysutherland.co.uk/index.html
Old Names of Streets in Glasgow, Scotland http://www.glasgowguide.co.uk/info-streetschanged1.html
Glasgow & West of Scotland Family History Society http://www.gwsfhs.org.uk/
Scottish Genealogy Society http://www.scotsgenealogy.com/
Find Places in Scotland http://www.scotlandsplaces.gov.uk/
Crann Tara: Preserving the Culture, History, Heritage & Future of Scotland      http://www.cranntara.org.uk/index.html
Ancient Highland Dress | Scottish Tartans Authority http://www.tartansauthority.com
Celtic Magazine - U of Toronto Archives http://www.archive.org/details/celticmagazinemo01inveuoft
The Highland Clearances http://www.theclearances.org/
The Statistical Accounts of Scotland http://stat-acc-scot.edina.ac.uk/sas/sas.asp?action=public&passback=

Australia

National Library of Australia (newspapers archives, archived websites      http://trove.nla.gov.au/

Other

European Patent Office      http://www.epo.org/searching/free/espacenet.html?hp=stages
Free Patents Online - US Patent Search http://www.freepatentsonline.com/
Local Population Studies http://www.localpopulationstudies.org.uk/
Rudy's List of Archaic Medical Terms http://www.antiquusmorbus.com/
Historic Maps http://www.historicmapworks.com
Historic Maps http://digital.library.mcgill.ca/countyatlas/default.htm
A Guide to Free Genealogical & Family History Literature http://www.homeadviceguide.com/a-guide-to-free-genealogy-family-history-books/
Starting Genealogy http://householdquotes.co.uk/ultimate-genealogy-guide/